The Ozark Trail: A Guide to Hiking Missouri’s Mountains

“I hiked the trail in 9.5 days, so my average miles per day was 23-plus. A great pack for day hikes, hunting and weekend camping. Wetlands give way to ridgelines at the start of the Blair Creek section. The 26-mile route follows Blair Creek south as it carves down a valley through oak-hickory-pine forest before merging with the emerald waters of the Current River.

“Mid-November is one of the best times to hike in Missouri. With the seasonal overgrowth fading quickly, wildlife is easier to spot. The trail is likely to be in better condition this time of year because a lot of trail work begins in the fall,” he said. “Some nights were a little too cool, and I found I needed warmer gear. Another big downside of this season is the shorter daylight hours available for hiking. With the added height of an inflatable pillow and sleeping pad my head height was indeed close to the curvature of the tent ceiling but there was still enough room.

Staying on the trail also helps prevent erosion and damage to fragile plant life. The Ozark Trail passes through areas owned by several different organizations and governmental agencies, so the route may be marked with different signs. Common signs include the white and green Ozarks Trail sign and a brown sign with ozark trail backpack a white silhouette of a hiker or a silver diamond, both used as markers by the U.S. You may encounter some natural hazards when hiking through the wilderness, but it shouldn’t deter you from enjoying the outdoors. The Ozark Trail Association marks and improves the trail and ensures campsites are well maintained.

Plan accordingly and carry or cache water in case you are not able to find a source close by. Always treat any water for drinking and cooking along the trail. Specific water sources are indicated on Ozark Trail online and printed ozark trail canopy maps. His base equipment consisted of a Zpacks Arc Haul backpack, a Zpacks Duplex tent, and a Zpacks 20F quilt with a Therm-a-rest Neoair Xlite sleeping pad. “[The Ozark Trail] is more raw than other trails I’ve thru-hiked.

In the colder seasons insulating layers are a must, and a good rain shell for you and rain fly for your tent are necessary year-round. This daypack came in handy just for what I intended. Altra Lone Peak 3.5 trail runners were my shoe of choice, along with Darn Tough Merino Wool Hiker Boot socks. I brought water shoes to navigate streams with but only used them once; way too much trouble to switch at every crossing. I was fine hiking with wet Altras and mailed my water shoes home at Brushy Creek.My food cost me around $300, not counting what I ate on my town day in Van Buren.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started